Turkey declares ambassadors of ten countries persona non grata

© AP Photo / Francisco Seco

Turkish President Recep Tayyip Erdogan instructed the Foreign Ministry to declare persona non grata ambassadors of the United States, Canada, France, Finland, Denmark, Germany, the Netherlands, New Zealand, Norway and Sweden,- Ria News reports.

"I instructed our Foreign Minister to immediately take measures to ensure that these 10 ambassadors are declared persona non grata," Erdogan said, speaking in the city of Eskisehir. The broadcast was conducted on Twitter by the Turkish leader.

The reason for this decision was the call for the release of human rights activist Osman Kaval, with whom the diplomats spoke this week. After that, they were summoned to the Turkish Foreign Ministry, where they were reminded of the need to observe the Vienna Convention on Diplomatic Relations.